Art & literatures emerging from everywhere in this planet

Past Issues

Volume 04 Issue 03

The Mountain, The Magician’s Wife and other poems by Lee Gould

in Poetry by

The Mountain

Who is that speaking out of my mouth?
Am I the person she talks to on the way?

Consider the orange tree in the courtyard:
its specific number of ripe oranges,

those that are apparent, those
that are hidden among leaves.

Tomorrow the number will change;
show me the orange that is concerned.

Am I insensitive
to the I of the orange tree?

Weren’t we all at Sinai?
waiting for Moses to descend

with the commandments
we’ll disregard?

Read More

A Journey Beyond the Baggage of Pronouns In the tradition of Hafez, Rumi and Al Arabi

in Book Reviews by
Wayfaring Book Cover Wayfaring
Tikuli
Poetry
Leaky Boot Press
November 20, 2017
Paperback
136
978-1909849549

You is the crucial word in this riverine collection of poems. In their often apostrophic poise they recall Louis Malle's Phantom India (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phantom_India), the 1969 film that memorably traces the bloodstream of the subcontinent.

When a poet says the I word once too often poems become forests of girders, obstructing our vision. But the poet Tikuli uses the word to stir the elements of nostalgia, melancholy and fragility until all are ennobled. That is the role of the word I in her alchemical project.

 

Nichole Van Beek: Glam Math Interview by Maxwell Taylor-Milner

in Interviews by

This interview was conducted by Maxwell Taylor-Milner in Nichole van Beek’s studio in Ridgewood, New York on June 13th, 2017.

MTM: To begin at the beginning, something you’ve alluded to in the past are pieces that were more photo driven. I’ve seen some pieces from 2010 that had photographs with patterns overlaid on them that seemed to be connected to your current paintings but I was wondering if you could talk about those early pieces and the transition from using images to working solely in paint.

NVB: I think I’ve always flipped back and forth between doing photography and drawing or painting by hand–all through undergrad and then after. But as an undergrad, I had this idea that I had to learn a technical skill, so I put a lot of emphasis on learning photography and video. I was also doing computer animation at that time but I went to art school because I loved to draw and paint.

Read More

We think of epic poems as recounting the past, But this epic is about what is happening now

in Book Reviews/Poetry by
The Valley of the Eight Book Cover The Valley of the Eight
Matt Bialer
Poetry
Leaky Boot Press
November 20, 2017
Paperback
230
978-1909849518

 

Brilliantly syncopated, wired with jazzy riffs, toe-tappingly hypnotic, Matt Bialer's epic poem, The Valley of the Eight, recounts at least three kinds of searches and many more kinds of searchers.

  • A father and daughter seek common ground in spite of their differences.
  • A creationist’s daughter seeks the remains of Noah's Ark in eastern Anatolia. Her father seeks common ground with her and her willful, quirky son.
  • Vikings search beyond Greenland in Newfoundland and New England.
  • An archaeologist seeks to maintain an old friendship and to re-energize his life.
  • A Tennessee nurse to whom miracles were attributed seeks—and believes he has found—Noah's Ark.
  • A poet seeks to weave the seemingly dissimilar strands of science, technology, love, ornithology, mythology, religion and disbelief into a breathtaking and often breathless song.

A Letter From Under the Water & Thank you so Madly by Walid Boureghda

in Poetry by

A Letter From Under the Water

If you were my friend,
Would you help me, then?
To break the bond,
To which we put an end?

If you were my dearly love,
Would you help me again?
To finally soothe my pain,
And free my soul from all above? Read More

A poet who shows us how to redefine what we claim is topical and relevant

in Book Reviews/Poetry by
Dear All Book Cover Dear All
Maggie Anderson
Poetry
Four Way Books
September 5, 2017
Paperback
88
978-1-935536-97-0

 

Fatal overconfidence pervades the American sensibility when it comes to defining topicality and relevance. We assume we know because tastemakers and gatekeepers tell us what we know. Maggie Anderson’s fifth book of poetry, Dear All, challenges that, as the inclusive title promises.

Our overconfidence is rooted in the confounding of market with merit. We think what sells, what promises to sell, what talks overtly about what’s in the news, as our media define the news, is topical and relevant. But poetry and art and music—witness Taylor Swift’s “Look What You Made Me Do,” as a popular example—redefine news under our noses. That’s the particular power of country music, its relevance.

1 2 3
Go to Top