The Writers' Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador is calling for submissions to one of the country's most lucrative literary awards for unpublished writers. Dubbed the Fresh Fish Award for Emerging Writers by its sponsor, Newfoundland-born author Brian O'Dea, the prize is valued at $5,000.

The Fresh Fish Award is intended to serve as an incentive for emerging writers in Newfoundland and Labrador by providing them with financial support, recognition and professional editing services for a book-length manuscript in any genre. The winning author will receive a cash prize of $4,000 plus the editing services of a professional editor valued at up to $1,000. The winning author will also have her or his name inscribed on a brass plaque and receive a miniature sculpture in the style of "Man Nailed to a Fish" by sculptor Jim Maunder.


Writers must be registered members of the Writers' Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador with a completed unpublished manuscript in any genre. Writers may join the Alliance at the time of submission.
Writers with a published book in any genre, or a book accepted for publication in any genre, at the time of submission are NOT eligible to enter.
Writers must have lived in Newfoundland and Labrador for at least three of the previous five calendar years, in any combination of 36 of the last 60 months.
Writers are permitted to submit only one entry per year, in any genre.
Each book-length manuscript for the Fresh Fish Award must be submitted in triplicate. Pages must be numbered, double spaced (except poetry) and can be copied double-sided. The author's name must appear only on the title page. Those who wish to have the manuscript returned must submit a self-addressed envelope with sufficient postage. All other manuscripts will be shredded.

DEADLINE EXTENSION: Entries must be postmarked no later than June 23rd, 2006 and may be sent to The Writers' Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador, PO Box 2681, St John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, A1C 6K1 or hand delivered no later than 4:00pm on June 23rd, 2006 to 155 Water Street, St John's. The winner will be announced at the Alliance's annual general meeting in October 2006.